The Layers of The Aura Explained

Did you know your aura has seven layers?

I’m going to hazard a guess at what you’re thinking right now…..’the aura what, eh?’ I know, It totally sounds weird right!

Seriously though, I didn’t know about it either until I studied reiki.

But that’s ok, no judgment here, because you have come to the right place to expand your knowledge, open your mind and find out more. So take a seat, grab a coffee or a herbal tea, get comfy and let’s begin.

So, you are very much aware of your physical body. You can feel your joints, muscles, bones and organs such as your heart, but what about your subtle bodies?

Did you know, every living thing, plants, animals and even stones give off a vibrating frequency of light? Holistically this is called the AURA or in scientific terms THE ELECTROMAGNETIC FIELD.

Its purpose is to protect your physical body and keep away negative vibrations, which could potentially cause you harm.

Of course if you are a kinesthetic kind of person, (the touchy, feely type), then you will know it exists, because you will have strangely felt it before. Remember a time when you were introduced to somebody, perhaps at a party and after shaking their hand, you got this weird shiver up your spine. You instinctively knew that something was odd, and you got this ‘sense’ that you didn’t want to be near them again. That’s because your aura’s didn’t match with each other.


Other Spooky Stuff About Your Aura

So, your aura or auric field also contains information about your life, such as your emotional and mental thoughts, beliefs and memories. The *chakras which are the seven wheels of spinning energy, are also found within your auric field. These little spinning wheels, can create changes in its colour and shape.

No two auras are exactly the same, as we are constantly shifting our vibrations due to changes in our thought patterns. When we are low in energy and feeling down, our aura naturally shrinks to reflect this.

When we are upbeat and happy, our aura naturally expands radiating outwards. This strange phenomenon, explains why we are more attracted to happier people and less attracted to more negative people. Well, unless of course we are also negative, then we are naturally attracted to other negative people. So the saying goes, ‘if you want to manifest a happier life, only hang around with happy positive people’

The Seven Layers Broken Down

Ok, so here it is. An explanation of each layer of the aura…..enjoy!

1. The Etheric Layer

This is the layer closest to the physical body, and the layer some therapists can see during treatment. Sits approximately two to four inches away from the physical body, and can be seen as a faint grey/violet mist. This layer is connected to the base chakra.

2. The Emotional Layer

This layer sits directly outside the etheric body, extending one to three inches. This layer is connected to the sacral chakra, and holds all our emotions, feelings and sensitivity such as joy, sorrow, love and hate.

3. The Mental Layer

This layer sits directly outside the emotional body, extending three to eight inches from the physical body. This layer is connected to the solar plexus chakra, and contains all our mental thought processes such as rules, regulations, judgement and discipline. Usually this layer is represented by the colour yellow.

4. The Astral Layer

This layer can extend out to about one foot. It is the bridge between the lower vibrations of the physical plane, and the higher vibrations of the spiritual. Connected to the heart chakra, this layer is represented by a beautiful rainbow colour.

5. The Etheric Template

This layer extends out about two feet. Connected to the throat chakra, this layer represents the blueprint of the physical body and looks much like the negative of a photograph.

6. The Celestial/Causal Layer

This layer can extend for up to two and a half feet. Connected to the 3rd eye chakra, this is where your spiritual connection begins and the process of enlightenment.

7. The Spiritual Layer

This layer can extend for up to three feet. Connected to the crown chakra, and protecting all the other layers it vibrates at the highest frequency, and is often seen as a brilliant white or golden light.

Who Works With The Aura

Reiki practitioners and holistic therapists are well known for the powerful work they do with this natural healing energy.  And, once any blocks and tears have been repaired within your chakras/auric field, there is no doubt you will feel more energised, balanced and calm. It truly is a wonderful experience.

If you are interested in experiencing this peaceful relaxing treatment for yourself, and I highly recommend you do, then click here,  I AM READY FOR HEALING.

Reiki Coaching Therapy

Laura has 17 years experience working internationally in luxury spa resorts as a Holistic Spa Therapist &Trainer. Currently she lives in South Lanarkshire Scotland and practices holistic therapies, runs reiki courses and provides one to one life coaching from her home in Hamilton.