The Chakras

The 7 Chakras

The below is a basic description of the Chakras. This post is meant as an introduction for those who have no knowledge or experience of the Chakra system as well as for those who are a little rusty and need a refresher.

What are Chakras?

The name chakra is an ancient Sanskrit word meaning vortex or wheel. This relates to the spinning wheels of energy where universal life flows up and down the body connecting the physical to the spiritual.

There are seven main chakras which are each connected to an organ, gland or bodily system and are represented by the seven colours of the rainbow. These chakras assist in the running of our body, mind and soul. Each chakra represents a journey through life, a consciousness, an awareness vibrating at different frequencies holding information on our thoughts and beliefs.

It is thought blockages in these chakras can cause physical symptoms and in extreme cases illness and disease. An ideal state of the human body is when the chakras are balanced and are in alignment with each other.

Balancing The Chakras

Changes occurring in life either affect our mental, emotional or spiritual state which will in turn affect the chakras. There are many ways to balance the chakras including through meditation and energy work. I use Reiki which is a form of energy healing originating from Japan to unblock the chakras during my treatments. As many physical symptoms stem from an unbalancement within the chakra system it is my belief to treat the body as a whole during therapies, and therefore I think offering energy work during a massage as well as my life coaching sessions provides great results.

The Chakras Explained Individually

1st Chakra – Muladhara – Base, Root, Kundalini – Foundation of physical body

*Location – Between the genitals and anus

*Colour –  Red

*Element – Earth

Governs – Adrenals, lower back, pelvis, hips, knees

When in balance – Strong connection to earth and the natural flow of life feeling stable grounded and secure with the ability to relax, let go and feel safe and happy at home. Optimistic outlook on life.

Out of balance – Feelings of insecurity, reaching a crossroads in life and not being sure of which direction to take. Financial worries, homelessness, not coping well with change such as moving house or starting a new job. Negative outlook on life, lack of confidence and the inability to finish tasks.

2nd Chakra – Svadhistana –Sacral – Foundation of emotional body

*Location –Between genitals and naval

*Colour – Orange

*Element – water

*Governs – The reproduction organs

When in balance – Good knowledge of where you came from, inspired creativity, ability to let go of emotions, maintain healthy relationships and balanced sexual desire. You are fertile, sensual and have the ability to freely express intimacy.

Out of balance – Sexual addiction, jealousy, feeling of being unloved, not able to express intimacy, child abuse, sexual guilt, relationship problems, lack of sexual confidence

3rd Chakra – Manipura –Solar Plexus – Foundation of mental body

*Location – Solar Plexus Colour – Yellow

*Element – Fire

*Governs – Pancreas, stomach, liver, spleen, gall bladder

When in balance – Confidence in you without the need to dominate others, strong will power, determination to reach goals, success and prosperity.

Out of balance – Lack of confidence, shy, nervous, worried, and anxious, dominate others, judgemental, critical, defensive, anger turned inwards, frustration, digestive problems and ulcers

4th Chakra – Anahata – Heart – Foundation of The Astral Body

*Location – Heart

*Colour – Green

*Element – Air

*Governs – Thymus gland, heart and lungs

When in balance – Compassionate, ability to give and receive love unconditionally, healthy loving relationships, trusting, self acceptance

Out of balance – Jealous, possessive, selfish, unable to trust or show love easily, bitterness, lack of empathy, suffocating others with your love, giving too much love and not receiving, heart disease, circulation problems, skin problems

5th Chakra – Vishuddah –Throat

*Location – Throat

*Colour – Sky Blue

*Element – Ether/Space

*Governs – Thyroid gland, vocal chords

When in balanceClear communication, freedom of verbal speech, creative

Out of balance – Talking too much, lack of confidence speaking in public, stuttering, fast speech, inability to listen to others, thyroid problems, sore throats, neck strain

6th Chakra – Ajna – 3rd Eye – Foundation of Physic Powers

*Location – 3rd Eye

*Colour – Indigo

*Element – Light

*Governs – The pituitary gland

When in balance – Creative imagination, psychic abilities, clear vision, good intuition, ability to see auras, use of all six senses

Out of balance – Poor concentration, hallucinations, confusion, loss of memory, over analysing situations, insomnia, headaches and sinus problems

7th Chakra – Sahasrara – Crown – Foundation of Spirituality

*Location – Top of the head

*Colour – White/Gold

*Governs – The pineal gland

When in balance – Feeling at one with the world, conscious connection to spirit, intelligence, wisdom and knowledge

Out of balance – Spiritual addiction or no spiritual awareness, limiting beliefs, materialistic, mental problems

To find out which chakra you need to balance, take this chakra test

For more information on the Chakras and how to balance with Reiki, I recommend reading this wonderful book by Richard Ellis called Reiki And The Seven Chakras 

To book your next appointment with me for either holistic therapies or life coaching, please click here

Laura x